I love to read now.

Happy Wednesday everyone. Today on the blog I’m doing something a little different. I have a confession to make. When I was a child, I didn’t like to read. Yes, I didn’t like to read. You may be wondering, why is he an author if he didn’t like to read? Honestly, I asked myself that same question.
Through school, the only time I’d read a book if it was a requirement for one of my subjects or my parents made me. Luckily, during the summer my local Library hosted a summer reading program. Shout out to June Pike at Carroll County Public Libary in Hillsville, Virginia for hosting it each year, and the time and effort that goes into it.
During those programs each year, she would arrange for different people to stop by. One day “the balloon lady” came. That was fun, and she could make all different kinds of art. Some were animals, and she even made balloon hats. I always enjoyed going to watch her perform and looked forward to seeing the different creations. Still to this day, she still visits the Library and makes her work of art during the reading program.
Years later, the love of reading began to grow and I found I couldn’t get enough books to read. To this day, you ought to see my bookshelves. I could start a small Library with the amount I have.
With that being said, let’s make sure children read. If they only read for thirty minutes each day, that’s a start. Also, take trips to your local Library each week. That’s like going to a magical castle and embracing on some awesome adventures. A book takes you places you could never visit, and you’ll learn things too. Here’s a good quote from Dr. Seuss himself:
I remember reading a bunch of Dr. Seuss’ books during the summer reading programs. His books are a must read for children.
Let’s get reading everyone and challenge ourself to read a book this week. (Point finger at me) This includes me too. I better take a trip to my bookshelf and see what I can find. If you hear of an author getting brained to death by a stack of books, you’ll know it was me!

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment